1. Home
  2. Teams
  3. South Carolina Stingrays
Washington Capitals
Washington Capitals NHL Affiliate Visit Team Site
Hershey Bears
Hershey Bears AHL Affiliate Visit Team Site

No Statistics

There are currently no statistics for this season.

Team Comparison

South Carolina Stingrays South Carolina Stingrays
Goals Scored
Shorthanded Goals
Power Play Percentage
Penalty Kill Percentage
ECHL Select Team


Name Role
Rob Concannon President
Jared Nightingale Head Coach
Scott Davidson Assistant Coach

No Games

No games match these filters.

The South Carolina Stingrays were founded in 1993 and are playing in their 26th ECHL season in 2018-19. They are in their 13th season as an affiliate of the NHL's Washington Capitals. The team has qualified for postseason play in 24 of their 25 previous campaigns and has won three Kelly Cup Championships during their tenure in 1997, 2001 and 2009. Their fifth appearance in the Kelly Cup Finals in 2017 is the most of any ECHL team. South Carolina set a South Carolina became the second team in ECHL history to reach the 1,000 win mark on March 21, 2018. and has an all-time winning percentage over .600. The team has called the North Charleston Coliseum home since year one and has welcomed over 4.5 million fans in their history. Most recently, the 2017-18 team set the record for most wins and points in a regular season, with 48 and 104 respectively. The 17-18 squad also established three ECHL records for defense including least goals allowed in a regular season (153), lowest team goals-against average (2.13) and fewest power play goals allowed (27). South Carolina also owns the record for the longest winning streak in ECHL history with 23 consecutive victories during the 2014-15 season. The Stingrays have the most playoff appearances in ECHL playoff history and have also played the most playoff games in the league's history. South Carolina has also been known for the success of their coaches, many of which have moved on to higher levels of hockey. Currently, Spiros Anastas is serving as the eighth head coach in team history, while former bench bosses Jason Fitzsimmons (Washington Capitals), Jared Bednar (Colorado Avalanche), Cail MacLean (Stockton Heat), Spencer Carbery (Hershey Bears) and Ryan Warsofsky (Charlotte Checkers) all hold hockey operations positions in the NHL or AHL.

Our Sponsors