1. Home
  2. News
  3. Adirondack’s Mead receives 2023-24 Blake Cullen Award

Adirondack’s Mead receives 2023-24 Blake Cullen Award

Monday, July 1st
ECHL Commissioner Ryan Crelin presents the Blake Cullen ECHL Executive of the Year Award to Jeff Mead

The ECHL announced today that Adirondack Thunder President Jeff Mead is the 2023-24 recipient of the ECHL Executive of the Year Award.
The award, which is determined in voting by the ECHL Board of Governors, is presented annually to the top executive in the League. In January, the award was renamed in honor of Blake Cullen, who, who was inducted into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2009. Cullen founded the Hampton Roads Admirals in 1989, and owned the team for seven seasons through 1995-96.
Mead oversees a Thunder front office that set a team record with 14 sellouts during the 2023-24 regular season while averaging 4,239 fans per game which is 84.8 percent of capacity at Cool Insuring Arena.
Mead spends countless hours in the community promoting the Thunder and Arena. He formerly was on the Adirondack Regional Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, and currently serves as the Treasurer on the Glens Falls Business Improvement District, serves on the Glens Falls Civic Center Foundation, and consults with the Adirondack Junior Thunder. He regularly speaks at city and county meetings to promote the team and keep the local politicians up-to-date on arena and team activities, plans and successes.
Blake Cullen ECHL Executive of the Year Award
2024                Jeff Mead, Adirondack Thunder
2023                Billy Johnson, Norfolk Admirals
2022                Joel Lomurno, Wichita Thunder
2020                Eric Trapp, Idaho Steelheads
2019                Neil Neukam, Toledo Walleye
2018                Neil Neukam, Toledo Walleye and Bob Ohrablo, Jacksonville Icemen
2017                Brent Thiesssen, Kansas City Mavericks
2016                Kristin Ropp, Cincinnati Cyclones
2015                Joe Napoli, Toledo Walleye
2014                Matthew Riley, Bakersfield Condors
2013                Joe Napoli, Toledo Walleye
2012                Justin Kemp,   Ontario Reign
2011                Dan Chapman, Stockton Thunder
2010                Kristin Ropp, Cincinnati Cyclones
2009                Gordon Kaye, Reading Royals
2008                Darren Abbott, South Carolina Stingrays
2007                Matthew Riley, Bakersfield Condors
2006                Steve Chapman, Gwinnett Gladiators
2005                Steve Chapman, Gwinnett Gladiators
2004                Terry Parks, Alaska Aces
2003                John Butler, Peoria Rivermen
2002                Matt Loughran, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2001                Craig Brush, Florida Everblades
2000                Brian McKenna, Trenton Titans
1999                Carl Scheer, Greenville Grrrowl
1998                Charles Felix, Pensacola Ice Pilots
1997                David Paitson, Columbus Chill
1996                Dave Berryman, Louisiana Ice Gators
1995                Harry Fuerstein/Craig Laughlin, Richmond Renegades
1994                John Gagon/Pierre Paiement, Roanoke Express
1993                Larry Kish, Wheeling Thunderbirds
About the ECHL
Formed in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and two Canadian provinces for its 35th season in 2022-23. There have been 740 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including 13 who have made their NHL debut in the 2022-23 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 28 of the 32 NHL teams in 2022-23, marking the 26th consecutive season that the league has affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at ECHL.com.

Latest News

More News
Christensen, Kallen join Knight Monsters
Christensen, Kallen join Knight Monsters
Bliss inks deal with Walleye
Bliss inks deal with Walleye
Heartlanders bring back Blachman
Heartlanders bring back Blachman
Mongo, Sellar return to Royals
Mongo, Sellar return to Royals
McRae back with Icemen
McRae back with Icemen
Adirondack re-signs Skeoch
Adirondack re-signs Skeoch
Roehl returns to Nailers
Roehl returns to Nailers
Komets re-sign Gorniak, add pair of rookies
Komets re-sign Gorniak, add pair of rookies
Knight Monsters add Kapcheck
Knight Monsters add Kapcheck

Sign Up For Updates

Sign up for our email newsletter to be the first to know about ECHL news!

Our Sponsors